Network Hacking (security) 101!

event-idea

(Nate Graf) #1

I started coming to Noisebridge about a month ago and I love talking about network hacking, and what I learned is that many of y’all do too! :smile:

We all know to be careful on coffee shop (and Noisebridge) wifi, but maybe you don’t know what an attack actually looks like. Let’s fix that!

If a few of y’all are interested I’d love to host an event to share some basic knowledge about how networks work and how to break them fun, but probably not profit (that would be at least 201).

This would be a hands-on interactive event using some infrastructure I’ve built to facilitate hacking competitions over the internet. So no one is walking away without having intercepting some packets and popped some reverse shells.

Disclaimer: I am by no means an expert in this topic; part of the reason it’s a 101 :stuck_out_tongue:

(Steve Phillips) #2

Sounds really cool! I’ve studied for the CCNA, I’ve been using Linux since 2001, and I’ve presented at DEF CON some defensive crypto stuff, but there is a gap in my knowledge that what you’ve described would totally fill!

(yasin) #3

this would be awesome! im definitely down to learn

(Vale) #4

I would love that, count me as definitely interested!

I’d love to check this out as well

(anthony faber) #6

me, too.

(Mana) #7

Sounds great

(Nate Graf) #8

Dope! I’ve set it tentatively to March 22nd at 8:00pm. If y’all think a different time would be better let me know.

(Bernice Anne W. Chua) #9

@nategraf will this be a series, because that week is GDC (Game Developers’ Conference), so I cannot make it, but I want to go.

Aside from that, I am part of Events Support, so do you want to add this to the Meetup & the main Noisebridge wiki too?

(Nate Graf) #10

@Bernice Just the one event for now, and definitely appreciate you adding to there!

(Bernice Anne W. Chua) #11