Calling Out Oppressive Behavior at Noisebridge

Calling Out Oppressive Behavior at Noisebridge
(An Open Letter to the Noisebridge Community)

[Trigger Warning, talking about oppressive behaviors in detail]

I think there are two fundamental issues that are broken in the foundation of Noisebridge right now:

1. Emotional Censorship
(i.e. we must speak ex-act-ly in a monotone, engineering way and cannot, under any circumstances, express anger or raise a voice).

2. Protecting Oppressive Behavior through Censorship
(i.e. if someone says a certain behavior is “racist,” “sexist,” “homophobic,” “ablest,” etc. it is met with much anger and flak / retaliation and they are told they are “name-calling”).

I’d like to get into those 2 items, but first would like to provide some background:

I’ve been coming to Noisebridge for 10 years (since 2010) and, for whatever its worth, have been a “capital M member” for 5 years, since 2015.
In that time, I’ve seen a lot of things in the community, some good some bad.

In the early days of Noisebridge, one of the first things we had to addressed as a community was the harassment and sexual assault of women in the space. Some people believe this appeared only after #Occupy. That is false. One of our founders, Jacob Applebaum, was himself accused by multiple women of sexual harassment and assault. This was a problem in our community from the very onset.

Noisebridge used to be close to 50/50 men and women in 2010 - 2011. We used to host Food Not Bombs in our kitchen making food for people on the streets downstairs. It was a “golden time” for many - we garnered a lot of attention, donations, and support and we were featured in books, videos, and more.